jane mickelborough :: spoons

breton wooden spoons

Stacks Image 91
An online live class with windsor chair maker, Elia Bizzarri
Stacks Image 107
PDF file for spring ring bolt
Download
0
PDF file for suppliers
Download
0
Stacks Image 117

FRENCH SPOON CARVING with JANE MICKELBOROUGH & ELIA BIZZARRI

Part 1: April 10th. 10am EST 3pm BST (UK) 4pm CET (EU)
Part 2: April 24th. 10am EST 3pm BST (UK) 4pm CET (EU)
Stacks Image 99
Animation for the chip carving pattern from the second class (Start arrow is white-on-white!)
Stacks Image 127

FRENCH SPOON CARVING with JANE MICKELBOROUGH & ELIA BIZZARRI


I am fascinated by wooden spoons–what appear to be simple, everyday objects are, in fact, very subtle three-dimensional shapes. Ten years ago I discovered the tradition of spoon carving here in Brittany, NW France, where I live.

Back in the 18th – 19th centuries these beautiful boxwood spoons were made to be taken to religious festivals and to weddings. Everyone had to take their own spoon and knife. This seems to have evolved into “who’s got the best spoon?”

While these spoons were fairly simple shapes, the handles were richly decorated with metal and wax inlays. It’s this shape of spoon we shall be making in these two classes.

You can purchase the set of both live classes for $70 or choose from either, à la carte.

Part 1: April 10th

We split the blank from a maple log and carve it with drawknife and shave horse, knife and gouge. Jane has developed a carving process that allows the blank to be easily held in a conventional shaving horse. She will also demonstrate using a paroir de sabotier (clog-maker’s knife) to carve a spoon. Class length, ~2 hours. Q&A included. $40 suggested.

Part 2: April 24th

After the final shaping of the spoon blank, Jane shows us a variety of chip carving techniques. Then we fill the carvings with wax inlay, just like the traditional French spoon carvers. Class length, ~2 hours. Q&A included. $40 suggested.

Video for the Online live class with windsor chair maker, Elia Bizzarri

FAN BIRDS with JANE MICKELBOROUGH and ELIA BIZZARRI, February 6th

Stacks Image 75

FAN BIRDS with JANE MICKELBOROUGH and ELIA BIZZARRI.



Jane Mickelborough in France teaches Elia in North Carolina to make traditional Scandinavian and Russian fan birds. These magical birds can be carved and bent from a single piece of wood in a matter of minutes. Jane usually makes them in the style of hummingbirds with long beaks, but the techniques can be used to make dolls, mobiles and earrings and more. It’s the perfect craft to learn right before Valentine’s Day!

Jane and Elia demonstrate how to carve, split and bend the feathers, talk about tools, make a few birds, show some short how-to videos, and answer all your questions.

We’ll also talk about how to make a riving knife like the one Jane uses to split the tail feathers.

VIDEO NOW AVAILABLE $20 or pay-what-you-can.

Stacks Image 25